Physics and applications of GHz vibrations

SAWtrain Summer School

The SAWtrain Summer School “Physics and applications of GHz vibrations in semiconductors” aims to provide an in-depth insight in this emerging field to young researchers at the PhD / Postdoctoral levels and beyond. The school program will combine fundamental lectures by leading experts together with specialized contributions reporting on the latest developments in the field. The school will take place from Jul 11 to Jul 21, 2017 at the Institut d'Études Scientifiques de Cargèse (IESC), Corsica, France and be organized within the European Marie Sklodowska Curie network SAWtrain.


The main subjects covered by school will be:

  • Physics of Vibrations
    Introduction to Phonons & GHz Bulk and Surface Acoustic Waves (SAWs) / Nanomechanics / Nanofluidics
  • Technology for GHz waves on semiconductors and related materials 
    Modelling / Sensors / Nanomechanical devices / AcoustoPhotoCatalysis / SAWs and Graphene
  • Acousto-Optics
    Acousto-optics/integrated optics using SAWs / Photonic and Phononic crystals / Microcavities and polaritons / Plasmonics & Acoustics
  • SAW Based Quantum Transport
    Semiconductor quantum dots & flying qubits / Superconducting qubits / Quantum information / Single carrier manipulation with SAWs / Single Photon Sources / Quantum Acoustics
  • General Topics on Phonons—Future Perspectives
    Research in an Industrial Environment / Phonons in Electronic Devices / Energy Conversion



C. Caliendo (CNR, Italy)

A. Cleland (University of Chicago, USA)

M. M. de Lima, Jr (University of Valencia, Spain)

P. Delsing (Chalmers University, Sweden)

W. Dietsche (Max-Planck-Institut, Germany)

A. Fainstein (CA, Bariloche, Argentina)

G. Fischerauer (University of Bayreuth, Germany)

C. Ford (University of Cambridge, UK)

G. Johannson (Chalmers University, Sweden)

A. Kent (University of Nottingham, UK)

H. Krenner (University of Augsburg, Germany)

P. Leek (Oxford University, UK)

F. Marquardt (Erlangen University, Germany)

T. Metzger (EPCOS, Germany)

T. Meunier (Institut Néel, France)

G. Nash (Exeter University, UK)

J. P. Poizat (Institut Néel, France)

W. Ruile (EPCOS, Germany)

A. Shields (Toshiba Europe, UK)

T. Sogawa (NTT-BRL, Japan)

C. Sotomayor-Torres (ICREA, Barcelona, Spain)

S. Tarucha (University of Tokyo, Japan)

M. Weiler (Walter-Schottky-Institut, Germany)

C. Westerhausen (University of Augsburg, Germany)

A. Wixforth (University of Augsburg, Germany)